Book Outfits Friday #6

This week, let’s revisit three looks of Claudia that aren’t as iconic as those we saw last week, but that represent her style very well.

#30 - Mary Anne and the Great Romance

#30 – Mary Anne and the Great Romance

“[Claudia] always wears the trendiest outfits. For instance, at our last meeting she was wearing layers – a shocking-pink tunic over a white shirt with pink and yellow umbrellas printed on it. Over the tunic was a wide, low-slung yellow belt with a pink plastic buckle. The shirt, but not the tunic, was tucked into a pair of black knickers, and below the knickers were yellow stockings.
Then there’s her hair. […] At that last meeting, she had divided it into five braids and had woven pink and yellow ribbons into the braids.”

#40 - Claudia and the Middle School Mystery

#40 – Claudia and the Middle School Mystery

“For example, here’s what I was thinking of wearing the next day: Since I had the big test, I thought I’d start with my lucky earrings – the ones that look like Princess Di’s. They’re huge (pretend) emeralds, surrounded by thousands of tiny (phony) diamonds. Then I thought I’d work downward from there, wearing my new green-and-blue-tie-dyed T-shirt dress (the casualness of the dress would be an interesting contrast to those fancy earrings) over green leggings.
The only thing I hadn’t figured out was the shoes should I go with my old ballet flats, or the black leather high-tops I’d just gotten? I was having a hard time deciding.”

#49 - Claudia and the Genius of Elm Street

#49 – Claudia and the Genius of Elm Street

“That afternoon, for instance, I was wearing a man’s paisley vest I’d found at a yard sale, over a striped button-down shirt with tuxedo-stripe black Spandex stirrup pants, held up with pink-flecked black suspenders. My hair was pulled straight back with a paisley comb, and I was wearing electric-pink ankle boots.”

 

One thing I find really funny is that in #71, Claudia and the Perfect Boy, she tries to find a boyfriend with personal ads. She’s interested in one but it’s specified that he doesn’t like girls who like pink, and she says that pink doesn’t suit her well anyway. Half the outfits I made in the past weeks were predominantly pink, even one in that very book (the sunset outfit). Please, ghostwriters, be coherent!

About Poire Gourmande

History student, graphic designer, fashion blogger and YA literature addict. Likes Harry Potter, the Baby-Sitters Club and Beverly Hills 90210
This entry was posted in Baby-Sitters Club, Book Outfits Friday, Claudia Kishi and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

